Onwards we march, to mutilate other’s words!

June 10, 2008 at 8:33 pm | Posted in Thoughts | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

Bored to death, I have decided to become a lyricist. Yet since I am just too consumed by laziness to write my own magnum opus, I have decided to take a so-so song from Dong Ban Shin Ki, ‘Aisenai Aishitai‘ (I can’t love you, I want to love you), and ad-lib it to fit my mood at the time. The new title is Ma ni aenai, Ma ni aitai‘ (We can’t make it, I wanna make it).

The original song was about some guy who loves his best friend’s girlfriend. My version is about some learner driver who wants to get to the other side of the road while worrying about running a red light. Note: The Reddish bold English text is the translation of the Japanese. Here goes:

「向こうへ行きたい」なんてつぶやき 僕の忍耐力を試しているの?

視線はずし 信号を見る 聞こえないフリはできてるかな

When you tell me “I want to go to that side”, are you testing my patience?

As I look at the traffic light, I avoid eye contact, pretending to ignore you

もしも赤信号 外れたら
刑事は 君と僕 を逮捕しちゃう

If I run a red light

We might get caught by the police

間に合えない 緑だけど 僕はまだ迷ってる

ばれないような速さで刑事を黙らせたい

間に合いたい この車はきっとやれる!

間に合えじゃ行けないI don’t want to get my license revoked

We won’t make it, even though it’s green… I’m still confused

I want to speed up so fast even the cops get fooled

I want to make it, this car, can do it for sure!

I just can’t make it; I don’t want to get my license revoked

時に免許書は酷いものだね 卒業の早さまで 決めてしまう

僕がそのシフトレバーをとって

免許書が失効されても怖くないよ!

Sometimes, learner licenses are harsh things. It even decides when we graduate

I take the gear stick

I’m not afraid of having my license revoked!

間に合えない黄色だから向こうまで行きたいんだ
本能にS-H-I-F-T後ろに背を向ける

間に合いたいこの炎は消せないよ

間に合えじゃ行けないI don’t want to get my license revoked
We won’t make it, it’s amber already, I want to get to the other side…

Instinctively, I S-H-I-F-T , turn my back on what’s behind

I want to make it, this passion, won’t disappear

I just can’t make it, I don’t want to get my license revoked!

どの道を行けば 向こうまで 誰にも観られずに たどりつける?
Which path to that side should I take without being seen?

間に合えない緑だけど 僕はまだ信じてる

いつの瞬間かZ-O-O-Mあっちへ着きたい

間に合いたいこの悩みは止まらない
間に合えじゃ行けないI don’t want to get my license revoked

We won’t make it, even though it’s green, I still believe

Any moment now, Z-O-O-M to the other side

I want to make it, this worries, they won’t stop

I just can’t make it, I don’t want to get my license revoked!

(ooh… can’ t stop my car, can’ t wait no longer, my love)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

