I am…

August 2, 2008 at 8:49 pm | Posted in Thoughts | 2 Comments
Tags:

I am the sonnet, never quickly thrilled;
Not prone to overstated gushing praise
Nor yet to seething rants and anger, filled
With overstretched opinions to rephrase;
But on the other hand, not fond of fools,
And thus, not fond of people, on the whole;
And holding to the sound and useful rules,
Not those that seek unjustified control.
I’m balanced, measured, sensible (at least,
I think I am, and usually I’m right);
And when more ostentatious types have ceased,
I’m still around, and doing, still, alright.
In short, I’m calm and rational and stable –
Or, well, I am, as much as I am able.

What Poetry Form Are You?

Let’s see:

I am the sonnet, never quickly thrilled; (quite right)
Not prone to overstated gushing praise (yup. normally in jest)
Nor yet to seething rants and anger, filled (anger? barely)
With overstretched opinions to rephrase; (right. quick and sharp)
But on the other hand, not fond of fools, (damn right)
And thus, not fond of people, on the whole; (well, to a certain extent…)
And holding to the sound and useful rules, (my rules)
Not those that seek unjustified control. (too lazy to take control)
I’m balanced, measured, sensible (at least,
I think I am, and usually I’m right); (true enough, I suppose)
And when more ostentatious types have ceased,
I’m still around, and doing, still, alright. (well, around I am, for sure)
In short, I’m calm and rational and stable – (by my own standards)
Or, well, I am, as much as I am able.

Huh. Well, that was fun.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Aha! I guessed correctly that you would be the sonnet. How typical of you Levin. I wanted to leave a comment in your post on your trip. I think I have to re-read that long post again.

  2. Yes Levin, you’re a hardcover open book.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

