It’s an Obie world~

November 5, 2008 at 1:44 pm | Posted in Thoughts | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Well well. I’ve been wasting my morning watching the live coverage of the US election on BBC, and Obi-Wan Kenobi is now the 44th President of the United States. Yup, Obi. I don’t really like Star Wars, but for some reason I’ve attached that label to him, probably because they sound alike (Obama=Obie). Now, if Obama is Obi, who’s Senator McCain? *pfft* Senator Palpatine, perhaps?

As you can see I don’t intend to write a serious analysis of Obi’s victory. What do we have now? A Jedi renaissance? Well that wouldn’t really be fair, since that would mean that that the Republicans are a bunch of evil Siths. Although Gore Vidal might choose to differ (Now that was one strange old man) with the way he described the traditional Republican, as a group that ‘holds on to wealth and power’ or something along those lines.

So… is Obi really a closet Sedi? Yup- Sedi. Another one of my creations, a fusion of Jedi and Sith born out of my annoyance with the franchise, George Lucas‘s lousy direction, and a slight need to irritate fans of the series.

I don’t really care about politics beyond how it affects the price of my imports. I wonder what the Chinese (In China) will think. I remember someone once said of Bill Clinton, “we like him because he talks straight” or something like that. I think what Bill said to warrant such praise was “I’m going to China not to foster good relations, but to do business”. Pretty direct.

Constantly irritated with idiots in Malaysian politics, I have often fantasized about becoming dictator of this country and turning it in a more… shall we say, interesting direction. There’s an old Chinese quote/curse which I’m quite fond of: May you live in interesting times. Obi- I’m waiting for some fine entertainment on your part.

You still here? Expecting more? I warned you this was going to be brief and rather pointless, didn’t I? So go read the news instead of hoping for more from me. Run along now, then…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

