Rakugaki: Female Accessorisation

February 27, 2009 at 11:04 pm | Posted in Art | Leave a comment
The wonders of Photoshop.

The wonders of Photoshop.

Accessorisation. Yes, I know, the word doesn’t exist (at least, that’s what Firefox is telling me), but it’s my prerogative, by virtue of being me, to create whatever word I so desire. So there. I made it up just for this picture- something I drew between lectures. Rakugaki, if you didn’t know already, according to Jishobot, is Japanese for:

落書き

らくがき

rakugaki

noun or participle which takes the aux. verb suru, noun (common) (futsuumeishi)

  • scrawl
  • scribble
  • graffiti

The one on the far left is the original- that’s how it turned out after I scanned it. I wonder if a flat scanner would be better… Anyway, I really can’t post a near-invisible picture and blabber endlessly about it, can I? So along comes the middle picture, which was made using photoshop’s ‘darkened strokes’ function. Pretty good, I thought, but decided to play along a little longer, which is how the one on the far right came out- a mixture of darkened strokes and a  ‘plastic wrap’.

So why ‘accessorisation’? She started out as nothing more than a fancy coat, and after that, gained a pair of gloves, and then a delicate little fur (fake, of course) scarf, if that’s the correct term- I’m not to certain about these fashion terms… there’s probably a fancier term out there. In the third picture, thanks to the plastic wrap function, I inadvertently gifted her a pair of sunglasses and an umbrella. Normally you’d think “damn that black spot in the middle, now I’ll have to redo it”, but I just went “Oooh… that’s nice…” Ignore the shoes- I’ve always been terrible at footwear.

One thing about art- it attracts attention. If it’s good, of course. I really drew this for an experiment- to see if anyone would comment on it. It did draw attention from one girl, but none of the guys took notice. I suppose it also depends on the artistic leanings of the test subjects in question. I’m inclined to think that if I’d drawn a picture of a bikini clad supermodel it would be the guys who wouldn’t leave me alone- assuming I could do a good job of it, of course.

Back to the topic of accessories and fashion, one girl (best that I keep her name off record) told me that she’s pretty annoyed by some girl[s] who have a strange habit of admiring others appearances and showing up a few days later with the same look. I can empathize with her feelings- I once saw someone in a mall wearing the same shoes as I was, and trust me, I didn’t go up to him and give him a friendly ‘oh we’ve got the same shoes ain’t that great’ hug of friendship- stayed as far away from him as possible.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

