Cellos Intoxicate Me.

April 6, 2009 at 10:23 pm | Posted in Thoughts | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

Bobbie introduced me to this particular piece of music a few nights ago. She said it’s about falling in love with someone that you shouldn’t fall in love with (That ever happen to you, you who be reading this? Quite a common occurrence, I should think). For some reason I felt more like it was about someone deeply in love with someone, yet not knowing how to keep the relationship afloat any longer. Like a captain watching his ship sink, a convict walking up to the noose, or a cat being humiliated once more by a mouse named Jerry. Meh, the last one is a little off…

 She was enjoying being depressed as a result of the song, she said. I just couldn’t feel the same way- mainly because I was fully focused on the cellist. No, not the player, but the music she was playing. You will notice that for once I did not call a song a song (para 1), but rather music. Because that’s all I was paying attention to, even at full volume (Which admittedly isn’t very loud on this laptop). Even after replaying it, all I could hear was the cello…

I wonder why I like the cello so much. My first time listening to one was the repeated tune by Haji in the 50 episode storytelling masterpiece known as Blood+. Maybe it’s just the gloomy feeling it gives off. Cellos are probably capable of uplifting tunes, too, of course, but who cares when they result in music as gorgeously depressing as this?

I don’t get depressed these days. Even back in school my occasional depression was manufactured by myself, just for the sake of feeling depressed. The only thing putting me down at the moment is the fact that I have once more been knocked of my comfy throne by the fact that this free wordpress.com blog doesn’t support scripts- which means that I can’t use that funky (And ultimately pointless) new function Youtube has (Coloured borders for embedded videos). Oh well. Here’s the lyrics for the above to end this.

“Damien Rice, Volcano”

Don’t hold yourself like that
You’ll hurt your knees
I kissed your mouth and back
That’s all I need
Don’t build your world around
Volcanoes melt you down

And what I am to you
Is not real
And what I am to you
You do not need
And what I am to you
Is not what you mean to me
You give me miles and miles of mountains
And I ask for the sea

Don’t throw yourself like that
In front of me
I kissed your mouth your back
Is that all you need
Don’t drag my love around
Volcanoes melt me down
And what I am to you
Is not real
And what I am to you
You do not need
And what I am to you
Is not what you mean to me

You give me miles and miles of mountains
And I ask…

What I give to you
Is just what I’m going through
This is nothing new
No, no, just another phase of finding
what I really need
Is what makes me bleed
Like a new disease
But lord she’s still too young to treat

She’s still too young/ Volcanoes melt you down
What I am to you/ Volcanoes melt you down/ She’s still too young
Is not real/ Volcanoes melt you down/ She’s still too young
What I am to you/ Volcanoes melt you down/ She’s still too young
You do not need/ Volcanoes melt you down/ She’s still too young
She’s still too young/ Volcanoes melt you down/ She’s still too young

You do not need me

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

