French greens taste excellent, but printed nonsense is still nonsense

April 23, 2009 at 8:14 pm | Posted in Thoughts | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

Well well- I’ve just completed my research essay for my Common Law exam, and all that I have left to do is think up a title for it. Maybe I’ll call it “why the French find you amusing”. Although that would probably result in a big cursive zéro. Well, naming issues aside, I just watched Mr. Bean’s Holiday last night, and it was pretty amusing. I still find it ridiculous that the British Board of Film Classification rated it PG for containing ‘irresponsible behaviour’. Bah. I don’t recall them sticking that on the Bean TV series.

Never mind that. What attracted so many to the TV series, was, I believe, Bean’s strange mix of likeability and obnoxiousness. It seems that they did the same thing with this movie as with the first- Bean was a lot less of a, well, bumbling ass with no respect for others and the social grace of a rhododendrum thrown into the Vatican. Which, of course, has none. And whatever happened to Teddy?

Never mind all that. As I said before, the movie was rather enjoyable. And definitely better than the first movie. I wonder why. It couldn’t have been just because of lovely lass Emma de Caunes as Sabine, could it? It could have. The French Bean. “Je suis Sabine. Vous êtes?” “Bean.” Never mind the fact that when they first met (Well, their third meeting, but the most significant) Bean was rather infatuated with her car instead of her. The potential inherent in a relationship between the two! From the point where Sabine let him on her car, I was rooting for a romance… although all that I got was a kiss on Bean’s cheek (From her, of course). A sequel? ‘Mr. Bean dans l’amour‘? I suppose they’d have to forget about his boring British girlfriend though… well, she’ll be better off without Bean, I suppose. Haha!

 

Ah, où est mon British homme?

Ah, où est mon British homme?

On to the second, non-Bean part of this post, which will be necessarily short. A front page article in one local English newspaper stated that a clerk-cum-blogger had been taken into custody for sending threats via SMS to certain state assemblymen (Who consequently chickened out of an important meeting). Well. Was the fact that he was a blogger in any way relevant to the article, I wonder. Why bother? What if he collected stamps? Clerk-cum-stamp collecter? Or a paedophile? Clerk-cum-paedophile? Ever since last year’s general election, the traditional media has been rather addicted to bloggers. Oh, that man who sells chicken at the morning market? He blogs? Write a story, quick! Faire l’imbécile. I’m fairly sure I used that properly- oh well.

And finally, a chain email that I received sometime last month:

I just received this message from a colleague. I don’t know the source of the message; I also don’t know the credibility of the content, but just beware. 

Below is the content on the message: 

“Hello there. I just wanted 2 let you know that please stay away from the beaches all around in the month of July. There is a prediction that there will be another tsunami hitting on July 22nd. It is also when there will be sun eclipse. Predicted that it is going 2 be really bad and countries like Malaysia (Sabah & Sarawak), Singapore, Maldives, Australia, Mauritius, Si Lanka, India, Indonesia, Philippines are going 2 be badly hit. Please try and stay away from the beaches in July. Better 2 be safe than sorry. Please pass the word around. Please also pray for all beings.”
 

Thanks and have a nice day. 

Bless you~

Ooh. So an eclipse is going  to cause an earthquake, which will result in a repeat of the 2006 tsunami? There was a picture as well- one quake was off the coast of Japan (I suppose it was necessary, to maintain some semblance of credibility). For some reason Japan wasn’t included in the text above, though. I suppose whoever wrote this doesn’t really care about Japan^^;

Anyway, the 22th of July, eh? Let’s all hit the beach for a swim:) *yawn* Oh well, that’s that. I’m off for some Zelda.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Zelda?
    Wich one?

    I can barely remember what happened in the first Mr.Bean Movie except for the fact that he destroyed some painting.
    So Teddy didnt appaer?Meh

    • Phantom Hourglass for the DS.
      Yeah, no Teddy but we got Sabine:)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

